Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

THIS LAND IS OUR LAND ... THIS LAND IS THEIR LAND

peter-paul-mary-newport.jpg
 
THIS IS OUR LAND...THIS IS THEIR LAND

By jim Richmond

On a very chilly Christmas Eve 5 mile walk. time to think. A time to write stories in my head. A time to appreciate nature. A time to think about all the people I miss and why.

Corny, perhaps, But I often listen to Peter Paul and Mary songs. on the walk. Songs that sang About justice, hope, challenge, and love, when I was but about 21.jmrwalking.jpg

My twin brother and I saw PP and M in live performances 

At least five times during those years.

And my last time was is 1964, when I was a young reporter for a Kansas City newspaper assigned to write a review of the concert.(I would shortly be drafted for Vietnam conflict service.)
 
After the concert was over I wondered backstage and in a large vacant store room, I found Noel (Paul) Stookey Sitting casually on the floor with a group of about 30 college students in a circle. Just discussing issues of justice faith hope and charity. He did not know I was a reporter

I went back and wrote the story and wondered how many stars, who had just perform for 2 hours to 4,000 or 5000 Would have spent their time with a group of young people in that kind of setting ...in that kind of conversation

So I listen to Peter Paul and Mary as I walk today, and I hear and I remember those hopeful aspirations And calls for justice Of the early 60s

And they are a reminder to me not to give up today ... to I hold those aspirations for today for tomorrow in-our country in the world...in my daily life at 74

 

 

Comments

  • I always enjoy the postings of Jim Richmond. Keep up the good work. Happy Holidays

The comments are closed.