Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

"Why don't you just die, you senile old bastard!"

"WHY DON'T YOU JUST DIE, YOU SENILE OLD BASTARD!"


That was a post back at me from a 20-something male on the international Denny's Restaurant website the other day, after I'd posted a comment critical of our local Denny's food and service.  


This morning I was reminded of the comment, the presence or lack of civility among MANY of today's youth, as I finished playing 9 holes of golf, and was walking back to my car in the VA Hospital parking lot.


Two young men in their late 20s or early 30s, were carrying their golf clubs, walking past me toward the course.  


"Beautiful morning, guys," I said to them with a smile.


"Outstanding morning, sir!," one of them replied.


It's pretty easy to spot most young people who've served in the military, by their dress and their manner, and their respect for others....especially for old grey haired men like me, who they surmise (correctly) served our country in a different time, and a different war.

You learn a lot in the U.S. military besides fighting a war.

The comments are closed.